Case Study

Every Subscription Start Has to Beat a Free Coupon: A GoodRx Subscriptions Growth Teardown

A self-directed teardown of GoodRx's subscription business, the new Companion membership, the condition-specific subscriptions, and the funnel that has to convert a free-coupon user into a paying member, built from public research, focused on where subscription growth is already compounding and where the funnel is leaking.

Guido Mamone August 2026 25 min read
On this page

Executive Summary

This teardown was built entirely from GoodRx's public pricing and membership pages, its Q2 2026 earnings release and call transcript, its own press releases, and third-party documentation of the Gold-to-Companion transition. The timing is unusually good: GoodRx is mid-pivot from a transactional coupon marketplace to a subscriptions-first business, and the company said so out loud on its last earnings call, subscriptions are now "the primary call to action" on the homepage and price pages, and marketing dollars are being redirected toward them.2 The goal here wasn't to find bugs. It was to map where that pivot's funnel is already compounding and where it's structurally leaking, from the outside, before anyone shows me a dashboard.

The structural tension the whole role sits on:

  • GoodRx's top of funnel is a free product that already does the job. Every price page shows a free coupon next to the membership pitch, so every subscription start has to beat a $0 alternative the company itself provides, on the same screen. That makes "qualified exposure" (the natural first funnel stage) a real analytical object: the user whose specific medication basket makes Companion mathematically better than the coupons, and the paywall doesn't currently do that math for them.
  • The pivot is working, but it's conversion-led while the audience it converts from shrinks. Subscription revenue grew 39% YoY to $28.5M and plans grew 14% to 764K, while monthly active consumers fell 12% to 5.0M and prescription-transaction revenue fell 26%.1 Management calls the cannibalization a "positive evolution," and it is, but a funnel whose top erodes 12% a year eventually needs the subscription itself to become an acquisition reason, not just a conversion of existing coupon traffic.

Six findings, each mapped to a lever worth pulling:

  • Companion's flagship claim, 250+ free medications, is a list, and lists don't convert; the user's own prescription does. The breakeven math is invisible at the exact moment it would close the sale.
  • Activation is a pharmacy-counter event the app doesn't fully control, and the 7-day trial (cut from Gold's 30) usually ends before a refill cycle gives the member a reason to feel the value.
  • The pricing architecture puts a 50% premium on monthly billing to push a $119.88 annual commitment, but the annual ask lands at signup, before the product has proven a single fill.
  • Gold's $19.99 family plan died in the Companion transition and nothing replaced it, yet the highest-LTV buyer in this category is a household managing multiple chronic prescriptions.
  • GoodRx now runs at least four consumer subscriptions (Companion, Weight Loss, ED, Hair Loss) with no visible ladder, bundle, or cross-sell architecture between them.
  • Every growth mechanic here runs inside a trust constraint most consumer apps don't have: "GoodRx is NOT insurance" disclosures, a 2023 FTC order over health-data sharing, and an active regulatory fight over subscription cancellation.

None of this is a case against the strategy, the strategy is visibly working: subscription revenue is growing faster than plan count, which means ARPU is rising, and the CFO confirmed revenue is "outpacing the number of plans."2 The findings are about tightening the funnel the pivot depends on. Everything below is a hypothesis grounded in what's observable from outside, not a confirmed diagnosis; no internal churn, cohort, or experimentation data was available. See A Note on Scope.

The subscription doesn't have to beat the competition. It has to beat GoodRx's own free product, on the same screen, every time.

GoodRx isn't selling entertainment, it's selling relief from healthcare costs, to people who are by definition price-sensitive and often anxious at the moment of purchase. That changes which parts of the standard subscription-growth playbook are usable and which are radioactive, and it's the lens for every finding below. Three structural shifts define the environment here.

First, the cash-pay prescription market is being reshaped by GLP-1 economics and manufacturers going direct. Weight-loss drugs created an enormous cash-pay category almost overnight, and manufacturers responded by building direct channels and consumer pricing programs rather than leaving access to insurers. GoodRx positioned itself as an access layer for exactly this: its Pharma Direct segment (manufacturer-funded direct pricing programs) grew 76% YoY to $61.6M and is now 31% of total revenue, with 135+ consumer direct pricing programs live.12 The subscription business and this trend feed each other: GoodRx for Weight Loss is a subscription wrapped around GLP-1 access, with an introductory $199/month cash price for Ozempic and Wegovy negotiated with the manufacturer.7

Second, the retail pharmacy footprint is shrinking under the funnel. Management named retail store closures explicitly as a headwind on transaction volume.2 A discount card is only worth what the counter it's redeemed at is worth, so every closed pharmacy thins both the coupon business and the "free medications at participating pharmacies" promise Companion runs on. It also pushes the market toward delivery and e-commerce, where GoodRx says 6,000 pharmacies now use its e-commerce and direct contracting capabilities.2

Third, subscription cancellation and health-data privacy are both regulatory live wires, and GoodRx sits on top of both at once. The FTC's "click-to-cancel" rule was finalized in 2024, vacated by the Eighth Circuit in July 2025 on procedural grounds, and the FTC restarted negative-option rulemaking in early 2026 while continuing enforcement under ROSCA, with state auto-renewal laws active in parallel.10 GoodRx also carries its own scar tissue: a 2023 FTC enforcement action, the first ever under the Health Breach Notification Rule, over sharing users' health data with advertising platforms.11 For a subscriptions growth role specifically, that history means the personalization and lifecycle mechanics that power growth everywhere else have to be engineered inside a much stricter data perimeter here.

Why this matters. All three trends point the same direction: the durable version of GoodRx is the one where the recurring relationship (subscriptions) grows faster than the transactional layer erodes, and where growth mechanics are built to a trust-and-privacy bar that would survive any of the pending rules coming back tomorrow. That's the throughline for durable growth here: balancing it with consumer trust and healthcare privacy considerations, a real design constraint, not a values statement.

The Company

Company snapshot.

  • Website: www.goodrx.com · HQ Santa Monica, California · Nasdaq: GDRX · founded 2011, has helped Americans save over $100B on medications since3
  • CEO Wendy Barnes; CFO Justin Fengler (recently appointed, replaced Chris McGinnis)2
  • Q2 2026: total revenue $200.4M (roughly flat, down 1% YoY), net income $8.5M, adjusted EBITDA $63.7M (31.8% margin)1
  • The mix shift underneath the flat top line: prescription transactions $106.4M (−26% YoY), subscriptions $28.5M (+39% YoY), Pharma Direct $61.6M (+76% YoY, now 31% of revenue)1
  • 5.0M monthly active consumers (−12% YoY, from 5.7M); 764K subscription plans (+14% YoY, from 668K)1
  • FY2026 guidance raised: revenue $790–805M, adjusted EBITDA $240–250M, with a return to YoY growth expected "earlier than previously anticipated"12
  • Subscription portfolio: GoodRx Companion (launched May 27, 2026, replacing Gold), GoodRx for Weight Loss, plus ED and Hair Loss condition subscriptions through GoodRx Care378
  • Subscriber history worth knowing: subscription plans peaked above 1M in 2021 (including the since-discontinued Kroger Savings Club), declined for years as that partnership wound down, and only returned to growth with the current condition-sub and Companion push, so the +14% is a turnaround, not a continuation
  • Churn and retention are tracked internally but deliberately not disclosed ("not a KPI or metric that we're putting out there right now," per the CFO), and the company acknowledged it's evaluating whether MACs is even the right external metric anymore2
  • Stock down ~30% over the past year, trading around $2.82/share versus $33 at its late-2020 IPO; the Companion launch itself moved the stock up just under 2% on announcement day13

GoodRx's own framing for why Companion exists, from launch-day coverage. Aaron Crittenden, GoodRx's president of Rx Marketplace, described the underlying services as running on a rented network, paying for access to existing provider relationships rather than building from scratch, deliberately scoped to areas of high, recurring utilization. He was explicit that it isn't an insurance product: "We're not building an insurance product... We're trying to build something that can be ancillary to insurance. Or if you were uninsured it would give you a good backstop on some things, not everything." He tied the launch to the broader environment patients are in: "Coverage is getting worse, costs are going up, you've got ACA roll-offs, it's a mess."13

"As coverage becomes more complex and out-of-pocket costs continue to rise, people are looking for trusted solutions that give them greater control and clearer value. Companion meets that demand while advancing our strategy to build deeper, more recurring consumer relationships across a growing portfolio of subscription offerings." — CEO Wendy Barnes, Companion launch statement, May 27, 202613

Their Plans

Working reference assembled from goodrx.com's membership and care pages plus the Companion launch release, captured August 2026, since pricing pages change over time and the findings below cite specific numbers from them.46 Prices and eligible medications subject to change.

The subscription portfolio, side by side

Free (coupons) GoodRx Companion GoodRx for Weight Loss Hair Loss / ED subs
$0, no account required to see prices $14.99/mo, or $119.88/yr (works out to $9.99/mo, "save $60") $39/mo introductory, $119/mo standard from Feb 2026; medications priced separately Hair Loss from $16/mo (varies by med and delivery frequency); ED priced per program
What you get: discounted cash prices at 70,000+ pharmacies, price comparison across pharmacies, refill reminders What you get: 250+ generics free with hundreds more under $10, $19 GoodRx Care visits (vs. $39–70 without), dental discounts (avg. $180 off procedures), vision (avg. $61 off), labs and imaging (avg. $525 off MRIs) What you get: telehealth consults, GLP-1 prescriptions, clinical support; paired with negotiated cash prices (Ozempic/Wegovy $199/mo intro for first two fills at the two lowest doses, then $349/mo; $499 for the 2.0mg dose) What you get: virtual consult (typically within an hour), prescription (e.g. oral finasteride or minoxidil), discreet home delivery included
Trial: n/a Trial: 7 days free (Gold's was 30 days); individual only, no family plan Trial: none advertised; intro pricing plays the trial's role Trial: none advertised

What changed from Gold to Companion (May 27, 2026)

GoodRx Gold (retired) GoodRx Companion (current)
Individual price $9.99/mo, or $89.99/yr $14.99/mo (+50%), or $119.88/yr ($9.99/mo effective)
Family plan $19.99/mo, up to 5 people (and pets) None. Individual membership only.
Core value Deeper discounts (up to 90% off) at a narrower ~38,000-pharmacy network; never included free meds, dental, vision, or labs A defined list: 250+ generics at $0, hundreds under $10, at nearly all standard GoodRx network pharmacies, plus $19 telehealth, dental, vision, lab and imaging discounts
Free trial 30 days 7 days; existing members typically ineligible
Migration No published migration deadline; legacy Gold cards keep working at the counter while account billing shifts to Companion terms.5

Marketing copy, as positioned

Companion leads with "Cut costs, not care" and "From everyday prescriptions to unexpected care," and sells with concrete dollar anchors rather than percentages: $180 average off dental procedures, $1,300 average off LASIK, $650 average off wellness labs, 250+ free medications.4 Two disclaimers do heavy lifting across every page: "GoodRx is NOT insurance," and membership savings can be used alongside insurance but not on the same transaction. GoodRx Care prices visits at $39–70 without membership and $19 with it, 7 days a week, across UTIs, skin, refills for chronic conditions, and weight loss.6

Placeholder

Live walkthrough still to do: the actual signup and checkout flow for Companion (web and app), where the membership pitch appears inside a coupon price search, the trial-start screen, the cancellation path, and what a lapsed-trial user sees afterward. I'd capture these screen by screen, in the style of the JamLoop and Net32 teardowns, before or right after a later round. Findings 1–3 would all sharpen with those captures.

Competitor Analysis

Research-only for now, positioning and business model, not a live product walk. GoodRx's competitive set splits into three groups that pressure the subscription from different directions: free discount cards that erode the reason to pay at all, flat-fee pharmacy programs that compete on price simplicity, and vertically integrated telehealth brands that compete for the exact condition-subscription buyers GoodRx is now going after.9

  • SingleCare, Optum Perks, and the free-card field. Structurally the most dangerous, the way free pre-installed tools are for any paid app: free, no enrollment, and good enough for the occasional filler. SingleCare is accepted at 35,000+ pharmacies and sometimes beats GoodRx's coupon price on a given drug on a given day. Every dollar of value Companion gates behind $14.99 has to be value a free card, including GoodRx's own, can't match. That's why the free-med list and the non-pharmacy benefits (telehealth, dental, vision, labs) matter: they're the parts a coupon card structurally can't copy.
  • Amazon Pharmacy RxPass. The closest structural comparable to Companion: $5/month flat for a defined list of eligible generics, on top of Prime, with delivery built in. Cheaper than Companion, but narrower (no telehealth, dental, vision, or labs; excludes controlled substances and brands) and gated behind Prime. RxPass is the benchmark a price-sensitive shopper will find in one search, so Companion's pitch has to be legibly "more than meds" or the $10/month gap does the arguing against it.
  • Mark Cuban Cost Plus Drugs. Competes on radical price transparency (cost plus a published markup), mail-order only, no subscription required. Weak on urgency and same-day pickup, strong on trust, and trust is the axis GoodRx can least afford to lose on. Cost Plus is less a funnel competitor than a narrative competitor: it defines what "honest drug pricing" looks like in the public conversation Companion sells into.
  • Hims & Hers and the vertical telehealth brands. The direct competitors for Weight Loss, ED, and Hair Loss subscriptions, with years of head start on lifecycle marketing, bundled med-plus-visit pricing, and brand permission in exactly these categories. GoodRx's counterpositioning is visible in its own press releases: transparent pricing, FDA-approved meds only, no compounded alternatives, no upsell kits.8 The open question for the subscriptions portfolio is whether GoodRx's pharmacy-network and price-comparison DNA converts into condition-sub retention the way the verticals' brand DNA does.

The pattern worth naming in the room. GoodRx isn't fighting one competitor, it's fighting a free floor (its own coupons, SingleCare) that pulls down the reason to pay, a $5 flat-fee anchor (RxPass) that pulls down the acceptable price, and premium verticals (Hims) that pull the high-intent condition buyers away. Companion's answer to all three is the same move: make the membership's value legible per person, not per list, because "your three medications, $0" beats both a free coupon and a $5 generic list in a way "250+ free meds" never will. That's Finding 1.

1. The subscription's biggest competitor is GoodRx's own free product, and the paywall doesn't do the math that would beat it

What I saw. Every GoodRx price search returns a free coupon, and since the pivot, the same surfaces now carry the Companion pitch, subscriptions became "the primary call to action across our homepage and price pages" this year.2 So the conversion moment is a side-by-side: a coupon price the user can have right now for $0, next to a $14.99/month membership whose headline claim is a list ("250+ medications are FREE, with hundreds more under $10").4 Whether Companion wins that comparison depends entirely on the user's own basket: someone filling two or three generics from the free list monthly saves real money; someone filling one occasional script is better off with the coupon, and GoodRx's own positioning admits this. The page doesn't compute which one the viewer is.

Why it matters. The funnel logically starts at "qualified exposure," and here is what that should mean operationally: an exposure where the viewer's basket makes the membership mathematically better. Generic list-claims convert the already-convinced; the marginal subscriber, the one growth has to win, needs the breakeven shown for their meds at their pharmacy. This matters double because the audience the funnel converts from is shrinking, MACs fell 12% YoY,1 so subscription growth can't keep leaning on raw traffic. Conversion quality per exposure has to carry more of the load each quarter.

What I'd do. Make the paywall compute the user's own math. A coupon searcher has already told GoodRx the drug, dose, quantity, and pharmacy; the membership pitch on that page should say "This medication is $0 with Companion. You'd save about $X/month vs. this coupon," and for repeat searchers, sum it across their history: "Your 3 medications: $0 with Companion, $34/month with coupons." First-party data the user just typed, no third-party tracking involved, which matters here (see Finding 6). Then instrument "qualified exposure" as a real cohort: users whose observed basket clears breakeven, tracked as its own funnel stage with its own conversion rate. That number, not blended price-page conversion, is the honest denominator for this analysis.

The metric. Trial-start conversion split by breakeven status (basket clears $14.99/month in member savings vs. doesn't), which turns one blended rate into the two numbers that matter: are we converting the people who should convert, and are we wasting pitch impressions on people who shouldn't. Share of exposures that are qualified, tracked over time as the MAC base shifts. Guardrail: coupon-redemption revenue per converted user, since every subscription start deliberately cannibalizes transaction economics and the net needs to stay positive per cohort, not just in aggregate.

The hedge. Some version of this personalization may already exist inside the app where I can't see it without a live walk, which is why the walkthrough in A Note on Scope comes before any redesign pitch. And the counter-case is real: showing exact breakeven math also tells the unqualified majority not to subscribe, which could lower blended conversion even while improving subscriber quality and retention. That's a trade I'd want to model with LTV data, not assume, I've reversed my own top-line win before when cohort LTV said the smooth version was quietly negative (the Allianz cross-sell story below).

2. Activation is a pharmacy-counter event, and the 7-day trial usually ends before it happens

What I saw. Companion's trial is 7 days, cut from Gold's 30.45 But Companion's core value is redeemed at a pharmacy counter, on the member's refill schedule, not the app's. Prescriptions run on 30- and 90-day cycles: a member who just filled their meds last week has no natural reason to stand at a counter during their 7-day trial at all. The membership's "aha" moment, handing over a card and paying $0, is an event the trial window mostly can't guarantee.

Why it matters. This is a structural problem I've dug into before in another subscription teardown, value the trial window can't demonstrate on schedule, and the benchmark data is better than intuition here: RevenueCat's 2026 dataset across 115,000+ apps shows 17–32 day trials converting at a 42.5% median versus 37.4% for 5–9 day trials, and over half of trial cancellations happening on Day 0, before the product has done anything.12 Subscription start, activation, and retention are the three levers here, and activation has a physical-world dependency most subscription products don't have. Whoever owns this funnel needs activation defined as the first fill, measured inside the trial, and engineered for, not assumed.

What I'd do. Three moves, cheapest first. (a) Define and instrument activation as "first $0 or discounted fill completed," and get the base rate: what share of trialers fill anything before day 7, and how does trial-to-paid conversion differ between those who did and didn't. (b) Engineer the value to show up before the counter does: an instant savings projection at trial start ("based on your searches, Companion saves you ~$41/month"), plus a nudge tied to the user's own refill date if it falls inside the trial. (c) Test trial shape, not just length: a fill-triggered clock (trial meaningfully begins at first fill) or a targeted extension for trialers whose refill date falls just outside the window, before testing a blanket longer trial.

The metric. Trial-to-paid conversion conditioned on in-trial fill, the single most diagnostic split in this funnel. Day 0 trial cancellation rate as its own line. Median days from trial start to first fill, against the 7-day boundary. Guardrail: 60–90 day retention of converts by trial variant, so a longer or fill-triggered trial isn't just deferring the same churn, plus free-med fill volume per trialer as the abuse guardrail below.

The hedge. The 30-to-7 cut may have been deliberate and correct, and this is the sharpest difference from a software trial: Companion's benefit is a physical product with real COGS. A 30-day free trial of "250+ free medications" invites exactly one abuse pattern, fill 90-day supplies of everything free, cancel, repeat, and Gold's 30-day trial never included free meds, so its economics don't transfer. The RevenueCat medians are cross-category priors, not healthcare measurements. So the first move is the question, not the test: what did the trial-economics analysis behind the 7-day decision show, and does the fill-triggered design (which caps exposure per trialer by definition) get the conversion benefit without the abuse cost.

3. The 50% monthly premium pushes annual commitment, but the ask lands before the product has proven a single fill

What I saw. Companion is $14.99 monthly or $119.88 annually, marketed as "$9.99/mo when paid yearly, save $60."4 That's a 50% premium on monthly billing, a strong push toward annual, and notably the annual effective price is exactly old Gold's monthly price, which makes the increase read gentler than it is. The annual option is presented at signup, next to a 7-day trial, to a buyer who hasn't yet redeemed a single fill.

Why it matters. Annual commitment is the right retention architecture for this product, it survives the low-engagement months between refills that kill monthly subscriptions. But asking for $119.88 upfront from a price-sensitive healthcare consumer, before any demonstrated value, is the hardest possible sequencing of that ask. The behavioral literature and my own experience both say the same thing: commitment asks convert best immediately after a value moment, not before it. And there's a signal worth reading in the disclosed numbers: subscription revenue growing 39% while plans grow 14% means ARPU is rising,12 some mix of annual adoption, the Companion price increase, and higher-priced condition subs, and which of those it is changes what the priority should be next. The billing-mix data answers it.

What I'd do. Re-sequence the annual ask instead of re-pricing it. Let the monthly trial convert on its own terms, then trigger the annual upgrade offer at the first documented savings moment: the member just filled two prescriptions for $0, the app shows "you saved $37 this month, lock in $9.99/month for a year," with the member's own realized savings as the anchor. I ran exactly this timing logic at DIRECTV, moving a free-trial offer from always-on to match-day intent windows lifted paid conversion 15% with no product change, and the mechanism is identical: the same offer converts differently depending on what just happened. Test a quarterly option too, as a smaller first commitment for members whose savings clear breakeven but not by much.

The metric. Annual share of new starts (signup-time) vs. monthly-to-annual upgrade rate (post-value), by cohort. Realized-savings-at-offer-time as the segmentation variable: does the upgrade offer convert better when anchored to actual saved dollars. 12-month retained revenue per start by billing path, since annual-at-signup with high refund/regret rates can lose to monthly-then-annual even at lower initial commitment. Guardrail: refund requests and support contacts per annual cohort.

The hedge. The 50% spread may already be tuned to something I can't see: involuntary churn on monthly billing (failed cards are a real churn driver in this demographic, I've built retention economics around exactly that failure mode at DIRECTV), or a deliberate strategy to maximize committed cash upfront while the pivot needs to show durable revenue. And deferring the annual ask trades certain committed revenue now for probably-better conversion later, which is a cash-flow question as much as a product one, finance gets a vote. The billing-mix and refund data settles whether the current architecture is a problem or already the optimum.

4. Gold's family plan died in the migration, and nothing replaced it, but the buyer is often a household

What I saw. Gold sold a family tier: $19.99/month covering up to five people (and pets). Companion has no family option, it's an individual membership, full stop.45 A Gold family of four that migrated faces either one membership covering one person, or four memberships at $59.96/month for what used to cost $19.99. Meanwhile the monthly price rose 50%, the trial shrank from 30 days to 7, and legacy members are typically ineligible to re-trial.5

Why it matters. The heaviest prescription users, the exact people for whom "250+ free generics" clears breakeven fastest, skew toward households managing multiple chronic conditions: parents, older adults, caregivers filling for a spouse or parent. Willingness to pay in this category is household-shaped rather than individual-shaped, and Companion's individual-only structure prices the best segment out of its best offer. There's also a nearer-term risk: the Gold-to-Companion migration is the single largest retention event in this subscription base's history, a simultaneous price increase, benefit restructure, and family-plan removal applied to the existing payer base. Whether that cohort held is the first thing I'd want to know in the job, and the retention question starts there.

What I'd do. Two separate workstreams that shouldn't be conflated. (a) Migration triage: pull the Gold cohort's churn curve through the transition, split by individual vs. family plan, and for lapsed family accounts, measure how many members from those households still redeem free coupons, those are warm win-back targets with demonstrated multi-person demand. (b) Household demand test: before building shared billing or family accounts (real engineering), run a painted-door "Add a family member" option at two or three price points ($24.99 duo, $29.99 household) and measure click-through among current members. I've done this kind of demand validation for a fraction of build cost before, a fake-door checkbox at Allianz killed a wedding-insurance product in two days for near-zero spend, and the same cheap-signal-first discipline applies whether the answer turns out to be yes or no.

The metric. Gold-cohort retention through migration, split individual vs. family, against the pre-migration baseline. Share of current Companion members whose account shows multi-person fill patterns (different prescriber/med profiles), a proxy for suppressed household demand. Painted-door CTR by price point. Win-back conversion on lapsed family accounts. Guardrail: revenue per household, since a $24.99 duo plan cannibalizing two $14.99 individuals is only right if retention gains cover the gap.

The hedge. The family plan may have been killed for good reasons invisible from outside: Gold's $19.99-for-five economics almost certainly couldn't survive a free-meds benefit (five people's free fills for $19.99 is a very different COGS exposure than five people's discounts), and launching Companion simple-and-individual first, with household pricing as a fast follow, is a defensible sequencing choice rather than an oversight. The migration data may also show the base held fine. That's why both moves above are reads and cheap probes, not a family-plan pitch, if the painted door says the demand isn't there at viable prices, the right answer is to leave it dead and put the effort into Finding 1's paywall instead.

5. Four subscriptions, no visible ladder between them

What I saw. GoodRx now sells at least four consumer subscriptions: Companion ($14.99/mo), GoodRx for Weight Loss ($39/mo introductory, $119/mo standard, meds separate), and Hair Loss (from $16/mo) and ED subscriptions through GoodRx Care.378 Publicly, they're presented as separate products with separate prices, separate signup flows, and no visible bridge: a Weight Loss subscriber doesn't get Companion's free-generics list for their other medications, and a Companion member pays the same condition-sub prices as anyone else. Nothing on the public surfaces suggests holding two is cheaper than holding each.

Why it matters. Condition-sub members are the highest-intent, highest-ARPU users in the entire base, a Weight Loss member at standard pricing pays 8x a Companion member, and GLP-1 users are disproportionately likely to be managing other medications, i.e. to be exactly Companion's best-fit buyer. That overlap is a cross-sell surface with essentially no acquisition cost, the kind of "member value" architecture worth ending on. It cuts the other way too: Companion's $19 telehealth visits are a natural on-ramp into condition subs. Portfolio architecture, what's a tier, what's an add-on, what bundles, is a decision I've owned before at DIRECTV, where curating an unmanaged add-on catalog down to four with explicit tier rules protected roughly $250M/year in add-on revenue, and the shape of the problem here is the same even if the scale isn't.

What I'd do. Map the overlap first: what share of condition-sub members fill non-condition medications that would be free or discounted under Companion, and what share of Companion members browse condition-sub entry points. If the overlap is meaningful, test the cheapest bridge first, a cross-sell placement ("your other 3 medications would be $0 with Companion") at the condition-sub's post-consult moment, before any pricing work. Only if placement converts does the harder question open: a bundled price or a "Companion+" construction, which changes unit economics per condition and needs finance and clinical stakeholders at the table from day one.

The metric. Multi-subscription holding rate today (the baseline nobody may be tracking). Cross-sell conversion by placement and direction (condition-sub → Companion vs. Companion → condition-sub). Blended LTV of multi-sub holders vs. single-sub, with retention as the mechanism to watch: bundle literature and my own DIRECTV LTV work both say attach can either deepen retention or add churn surface, and which one shows up is an empirical question. Guardrail: condition-sub clinical-funnel completion, a cross-sell that distracts from a medical consult flow is a trust cost no conversion number justifies.

The hedge. The silos may be deliberate. Each condition sub has its own clinical workflow, regulatory posture, and margin structure (Weight Loss in particular lives inside manufacturer pricing agreements7), and bundling across them could be operationally or contractually harder than it looks from a pricing page. Separate products also keep each offering legible, and I've seen the opposite failure mode up close, at DIRECTV we blocked certain add-on combinations precisely because stacking created cognitive load that hurt LTV. The overlap data decides whether this is the portfolio's biggest untapped lever or a complexity trap correctly avoided.

6. Trust is the constraint every growth mechanic has to run inside, and here it's enforceable, not aspirational

What I saw. Three facts frame every growth decision at GoodRx. "GoodRx is NOT insurance" appears as a standing disclaimer across the membership surfaces.4 The FTC's 2023 enforcement action against GoodRx, the first ever under the Health Breach Notification Rule, with a $1.5M penalty and a permanent ban on sharing health data for advertising, is public record.11 And subscription cancellation sits in an active regulatory environment: click-to-cancel finalized, vacated on procedural grounds, rulemaking restarted in 2026, with ROSCA enforcement and state auto-renewal laws running the whole time.10

Why it matters. The standard subscriptions-growth toolkit leans on behavioral retargeting, lookalike audiences off user data, urgency mechanics, and friction-shaped cancel flows. At GoodRx, the first two are legally constrained by a consent order, and the last two are exactly what ROSCA-era enforcement targets, in a category where the "purchase" is somebody's blood-pressure medication. That's not a limitation to work around, it's the design brief: the growth levers that remain, first-party personalization the user explicitly provides (Finding 1's breakeven math is built from a search the user typed), value made visible (Finding 3's savings receipts), and honest commitment sequencing, happen to also be the durable ones. Balancing growth with healthcare and privacy considerations is the real constraint; this is what that looks like in practice.

What I'd do. Treat the constraint set as an input to experiment design, not a review gate at the end. Concretely: every lifecycle and personalization test specced with a "data provenance" line (what data drives this, did the user hand it to us directly, does it leave the first-party perimeter), and the cancellation flow held to a bar that would pass click-to-cancel if it came back tomorrow, cancel as easy as signup, with the save offer being real value (the annual framing, a fills-based pause) rather than friction. I've operated under a same-shaped constraint before: insurance products at Allianz shipped with Legal in the room from the first spec, not the last review, and the discipline made experiments faster, not slower, because nothing died in late-stage review.

The metric. Guardrails promoted to first-class metrics, tracked per experiment, not blended: cancellation-flow completion time and steps, complaint and refund volume, support contacts per 1,000 members, and opt-out rates on any new data use. If subscription starts rise while any of those rise with them, the win isn't real, and that logic applies harder here than in most subscription businesses because the regulator has already visited once.

The hedge. The company has lived under the consent order for three years; internal data-use rules are likely stricter and better-specified than anything visible from outside, and this finding may describe the existing operating reality rather than a gap. That's fine, in that case it's not a proposal, it's evidence I understand the operating environment I'm asking to work in, and the question it reduces to is genuinely useful either way: which growth experiments has the privacy perimeter actually blocked, and is the constraint documented well enough that PMs design inside it from the start.

What's already working

Five things worth protecting exactly as they are, because a new growth PM's fastest way to lose a room is proposing to fix what's currently carrying the strategy.

  • ARPU is rising alongside plan growth, not instead of it. Subscription revenue up 39% on plans up 14% means the growth isn't being bought with discounts, the CFO explicitly flagged revenue "outpacing the number of plans."2 Whatever mix of pricing and portfolio decisions produced that deserves understanding before anything upstream of it changes.
  • Leadership already made the pivot call. Subscriptions as the primary CTA, marketing dollars redirected, cannibalization publicly framed as "a positive evolution."2 Most growth PMs spend their first year fighting for exactly this executive alignment; here it's the stated strategy, which makes shipping the higher-leverage move here, rather than persuading.
  • Companion's benefit design attacks the free-card weakness directly. A defined free-med list plus telehealth, dental, vision, and labs is value a coupon structurally can't replicate, that's the right architecture against a free floor, even if the paywall doesn't personalize it yet (Finding 1 is about the presentation, not the design).
  • Pharma Direct is a real second engine, and it feeds the subscriptions. 76% YoY growth to 31% of revenue,1 and the manufacturer relationships behind it are what make offers like $199 Ozempic possible inside GoodRx for Weight Loss.7 The subscription story gets stronger, not weaker, as this scales.
  • The condition-sub machine is shipping fast. Weight Loss, ED, Hair Loss, and the Medicare GLP-1 bridge all launched inside roughly a year.278 Whatever product-and-clinical operating rhythm makes that cadence possible is an asset; Finding 5 is about connecting these products, not slowing their cadence.

How I'd measure it

North star. Retained subscription revenue: subscription revenue that survives its first renewal, rather than subscription starts. Starts are the easy headline number and the easiest one to inflate with a leaky trial; revenue that renews is the version of the same number that can't be gamed by conversion tricks that churn out 60 days later. It also matches how the company itself is starting to talk, the CFO's "revenue outpacing plans" framing is an ARPU-and-durability story, not a volume story.2

The guardrails I'd hold myself to. Two, tracked as their own lines and never blended. First, contribution cannibalization: every Companion convert stops generating coupon-transaction economics, so each cohort carries a net-revenue check, not just a subscription-revenue win. Second, the trust set from Finding 6: cancellation-flow completion, complaint and refund volume, support contacts per 1,000 members. A subscriptions business that has already met the FTC once doesn't get to learn this the hard way twice.

The funnel I'd instrument. Qualified exposure (basket clears breakeven, per Finding 1) → membership pitch view → trial start → activation, defined as first fill inside the trial (Finding 2) → trial-to-paid conversion → first renewal → 90-day retained revenue, with the annual-upgrade event (Finding 3) tracked as its own post-conversion stage. Plus the two portfolio edges: condition-sub cross-sell rate (Finding 5) and win-back conversion on the lapsed Gold cohort (Finding 4). The stage most subscription funnels under-instrument is the one that matters most here: the fill event happens at a pharmacy counter, and the instrumentation has to bridge app behavior and claims data to see it.

Where I'd start

  1. 1 Instrument the two definitions everything else depends on: qualified exposure and activation. A measurement task, not a redesign, and it converts Findings 1 and 2 from hypotheses into a dashboard within weeks. If these are already defined internally, even better, the first move becomes reading them.
  2. 2 Pull the Gold-to-Companion migration cohort. One query answers the biggest open retention question (Finding 4), sizes the family-plan hole with real churn data, and produces the win-back target list as a side effect.
  3. 3 Ask for the experiment archive, then run the breakeven paywall as the first test. The trial-length economics (Finding 2), the annual-mix data (Finding 3), and any past paywall personalization tests may already answer half of this teardown. Whatever's left, the personalized breakeven pitch is the highest-leverage first experiment: it uses data the user already provided, it's privacy-clean, and it sharpens the exact moment the whole strategy turns on.

Ideas to test

Seven concrete, testable ideas, each grounded in something observable from outside plus the lever it maps to. None require internal data to propose; all need it to run.

  1. 1 Breakeven paywall. Compute the member price for the exact drug/dose/pharmacy the user just searched and show the delta against the coupon on the same screen ("$0 with Companion, you'd save $23/month"). Hypothesis: trial starts rise among breakeven-positive users while unqualified starts (and their inevitable churn) fall (Finding 1).
  2. 2 Counter-moment follow-up. After a free-coupon user redeems a fill, GoodRx knows what they paid; follow up with "with Companion, this fill would have been $0, that's ~$X/year on this prescription alone." The highest-intent conversion moment in the product is thirty seconds after a coupon just worked. Hypothesis: this converts meaningfully above any browse-time paywall (Finding 1).
  3. 3 Fill-triggered trial clock. Anchor the trial to the first fill rather than signup (or auto-extend for trialers whose refill date falls just past day 7), with per-trialer fill caps as the abuse guardrail. Hypothesis: conversion conditioned on an in-trial fill is dramatically higher, and this design buys that condition for more trialers without the blanket-30-day abuse exposure (Finding 2).
  4. 4 Savings receipt. A monthly "Companion saved you $X" recap, in-app and email, itemized per fill and visit, with the cumulative number surfaced at renewal. Makes invisible value visible in a product whose benefit is the absence of a charge. Hypothesis: recap viewers renew and upgrade to annual at meaningfully higher rates (Findings 2 and 3; the same restate-the-value mechanic as my Allianz "$100,000 medical bill" onboarding iteration, +3% conversion).
  5. 5 Post-value annual upgrade. Trigger the $9.99/month annual offer immediately after the first documented savings moment, anchored to the member's own realized number, instead of (or in addition to) the signup-time pitch. Hypothesis: post-value timing lifts annual adoption without discounting deeper (Finding 3; the DIRECTV trial-timing mechanic, +15%, applied to commitment instead of acquisition).
  6. 6 Household painted door. An "Add a family member" option shown to current members at test price points, measuring demand before any shared-billing engineering. Run the lapsed-Gold-family win-back as a parallel cell with its own offer. Hypothesis: household demand exists at a price that beats two individual memberships on retention-adjusted revenue (Finding 4).
  7. 7 Condition-sub cross-sell placement. At the post-consult moment in Weight Loss / ED / Hair Loss flows, show the member's other medications priced under Companion ("your other 3 prescriptions: $0"). Hypothesis: condition-sub members attach Companion at high rates and the multi-sub cohort retains better, the data that decides whether bundle pricing is worth opening at all (Finding 5).

From my own work. Most of these are close cousins of things I've shipped. The breakeven paywall is the same personalization logic as the intent quiz I added to Allianz's travel-insurance onboarding (route the buyer to their answer, +10% conversion). The post-value annual offer is DIRECTV's free-trial retiming (+15% paid conversion by matching the offer to intent moments). The painted door is the Allianz fake-door discipline that killed a wedding-insurance product in two days for near-zero cost. The savings receipt is the concreteness iteration from the same onboarding (+3%). And the reason every finding above carries a hedge box: I've had an A/B test fail outright (Mexico pricing, Allianz), and the lesson that stuck is that the insight from a failed test, users wouldn't declare trip costs, but they also didn't value the coverage we priced for, is often worth more than the win would have been. I'd rather ask what GoodRx's past tests showed than re-run them with confidence.

A note on scope

This was built entirely from GoodRx's public membership and care pages, its Q2 2026 earnings release and call transcript, its own press releases (Companion, Weight Loss, Hair Loss), third-party documentation of the Gold-to-Companion transition, public FTC and regulatory records, and cross-category benchmarks from RevenueCat's State of Subscription Apps 2026, which are priors about the subscription market, not measurements of GoodRx. I have not yet done a live screen-by-screen walk of the Companion signup, checkout, trial, or cancellation flows, or the condition-sub consult funnels, that's the natural next step, in the same format as my JamLoop and Net32 teardowns, and Findings 1 through 3 would all sharpen or change with those captures. No internal churn, cohort, billing-mix, entitlement, or experimentation data was available at any point. Every finding, priority, and metric above is a hypothesis built from outside evidence, not a confirmed diagnosis, and each one's first move in the job is a question or a query, not a redesign.

Notes

  1. Q2 2026 financial results: total revenue $200.4M (−1% YoY); prescription transactions $106.4M (−26%); subscriptions $28.5M (+39%); Pharma Direct $61.6M (+76%); other $3.9M; MACs 5.0M (−12%); subscription plans 764K (vs. 668K); net income $8.5M; adjusted EBITDA $63.7M; FY2026 guidance $790–805M revenue, $240–250M adjusted EBITDA. Source: StockTitan, "GoodRx Reports Second Quarter 2026 Results", corroborated against GoodRx investor relations. ↩
  2. Q2 2026 earnings call: CEO Wendy Barnes and CFO Justin Fengler on subscriptions as "the primary call to action," marketing redirection toward subscriptions, cannibalization as "a positive evolution," churn/retention deliberately not disclosed, revenue "outpacing the number of plans," retail closures as a headwind, 6,000 pharmacies on e-commerce/direct contracting, 135+ consumer direct pricing programs, and the July 1, 2026 Medicare GLP-1 bridge ($50 through 2027). Source: The Motley Fool, "GoodRx (GDRX) Q2 2026 Earnings Call Transcript". ↩
  3. GoodRx Companion launch, May 27, 2026: $14.99/month, 200+ free generics with hundreds under $10, $19 GoodRx Care visits, dental/vision/lab benefits; CEO framing on "deeper, more recurring consumer relationships"; $100B+ cumulative consumer savings since 2011. Source: GoodRx, "GoodRx Launches GoodRx Companion". ↩
  4. Companion membership page: $14.99/mo or $119.88/yr ("$9.99/mo when paid yearly," "save $60"), 7-day free trial, individual-only, 250+ free medications, $19 care visits 7 days a week, dental ($180 avg.), vision ($61 avg.), labs/imaging ($525 avg. off MRIs), "Cut costs, not care," "GoodRx is NOT insurance," insurance non-stacking rule. Source: goodrx.com membership page, captured August 2026; prices and eligible medications subject to change. ↩
  5. Gold-to-Companion transition details: Gold's $9.99/mo / $89.99/yr individual and $19.99/mo family (up to five people and pets) pricing, ~38,000-pharmacy Gold network vs. Companion's wider network, 30-day Gold trial vs. 7-day Companion trial, no published migration deadline, legacy cards continuing to work while billing shifts. Third-party documentation: RefillRelay, "GoodRx Companion vs Gold" and HealthRX, "GoodRx Gold Is Now GoodRx Companion", both captured August 2026. ↩
  6. GoodRx Care pricing and scope: $39–70 visits without membership, $19 with; text/call/video visits across UTIs, skin, chronic-condition refills, weight loss, and more. Source: goodrx.com/care, captured August 2026. ↩
  7. GoodRx for Weight Loss: $39/month introductory through January 2026, $119/month standard from February 1, 2026, medications separate; Novo Nordisk partnership pricing of $199/month for the first two fills at the two lowest Ozempic/Wegovy doses, then $349/month, $499 for the 2.0mg dose. Source: GoodRx, "GoodRx Launches New $39 Per Month Weight Loss Telemedicine Subscription". ↩
  8. Hair loss subscription, launched October 15, 2025: from $16/month, virtual consult typically within an hour, oral finasteride or minoxidil, free discreet delivery; positioned against multi-step competitor kits with upsells; follows the ED subscription's model. Source: GoodRx, "GoodRx Launches New Hair Loss Subscription for Men". ↩
  9. Competitor pricing and positioning: Amazon Pharmacy RxPass at $5/month for Prime members (eligible generics list, exclusions, state limitations); SingleCare free at 35,000+ pharmacies; Cost Plus Drugs transparent cash-pay mail-order model; GoodRx's FTC history noted as a comparative weakness. Source: HealthRX, "Best GoodRx Alternatives in 2026", captured August 2026. ↩
  10. FTC "click-to-cancel" rule finalized 2024, vacated by the Eighth Circuit in July 2025 days before its compliance deadline; negative-option rulemaking restarted in 2026 with continued ROSCA enforcement and parallel state automatic-renewal laws. Sources: Latham & Watkins; Gibson Dunn; Jones Day. ↩
  11. FTC enforcement action against GoodRx, February 2023: first-ever action under the Health Breach Notification Rule, $1.5M civil penalty, permanent prohibition on sharing users' health data with third parties for advertising. Source: FTC, "FTC Enforcement Action to Bar GoodRx from Sharing Consumers' Sensitive Health Info for Advertising". ↩
  12. Industry benchmarks for trial length vs. trial-to-paid conversion (17–32 day trials: 42.5% median vs. 37.4% for 5–9 days and 25.5% for ≤4 days) and Day 0 trial-cancellation shares. Source: RevenueCat, "State of Subscription Apps 2026", 115,000+ apps; cross-category medians used as priors, not GoodRx-specific claims. ↩
  13. Companion launch-day coverage: Aaron Crittenden (GoodRx president of Rx Marketplace) on the "rented network" model, "not building an insurance product" framing, and the "coverage is getting worse... it's a mess" quote on the market backdrop; CEO Wendy Barnes's launch statement on "deeper, more recurring consumer relationships"; stock context (down ~30% over the prior year, $2.82/share vs. $33 at the late-2020 IPO, up just under 2% on announcement day). Source: Forbes, "GoodRx Launches Companion Subscription As Insurance Add-On" (Anjalee Khemlani, May 27, 2026). ↩

Get in touch

Let's connect

Interested in talking through subscription monetization, pricing and packaging, or trust-first growth? I'd love to hear from you.